• World Language Program Information
     WL Graphic

    World languages is a skills-based content area, and focuses on the development of the students' ability to communicate successfully in the target language.  

    As students progress through our program, they acquire skills that facilitate their ability to successfully communicate in three modes of communication: Interpretive - the ability to understand what they listen to, read, and/or view; Interpersonal (two-way communication) -  the ability to converse with others, and/or correspond with others via email, texting, blogs, etc.; and Presentational - the ability to present one's ideas to others by speaking in front of an audience, and/or through formal writing.

    The proficiency levels begin with the Novice level, and progress through Intermediate, Advanced, Superior and finally, Distinguished levels. Research shows that most students who study a specific language beginning at the elementary level, and continuing through Grade 12, would be expected to attain a proficiency level at the Intermediate Mid to Intermediate High range. Most students who begin their study of a specific language in Grade 5, and continue to study that same language through Grade 12, would be expected to attain a proficiency level in the Intermediate Low to Intermediate Mid range. Students who study a specific language beginning in Grade 9 and continuing through Grade 12 can be expected to attain Novice High proficiency.  Most students who only study a specific language for two years (i.e. Grades 9 & 10) can be expected to attain Novice Mid proficiency.
    Therefore, the longer the sequence of language study, the greater the level of proficiency attained.  
    Below you will find descriptive guides to the various proficiency levels through which students will progress as they study their selected language.  These guides have been created by the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL.)
    Link to Proficiency Guidelines on ACTFL website:
    Download a copy of the ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines: 
    Link to the ACTFL Performance Descriptors for Language Learners on ACTFL website:
    Download a copy of the ACTFL Performance Descriptors: 
    The NCSSFL-ACTFL Can-Do Statements are self-assessment checklists used by language learners to assess what they "can do" with language in the Interpersonal, Interpretive, and Presentational modes of communication, at the various proficiency levels.  You may access these "Can-Do" statements, as well as global language benchmarks, by clicking on the following links:
    For the link below, click on the colored circle in each skill box to see a description of how students at that particular proficiency level will typically be able to produce or understand the target language.